the one with advice needed

i know i have been absent for longer than i care to admit but it is for a GREAT reason.  we are done!  done with the paperwork, done with the interviews, done with the home visit!  we are now waiting to be officially approved then we can join all the other waiting families!  it feels amazing to know that we have done everything we can do to hurry this process along and that the rest is completely in God’s hands.  i know that this is the point He has been leading us to for the last few years and it is incredible to see all that He has done.

so, i have decided to be productive while we wait.  first off, i want to be prepared for when we get THE CALL.  the item we will need first is a car seat.  i went with my mom to test drive a few travel systems and i was so surprised at how heavy those things are.  i mean they are a beast!  now i am only five foot nothing who drives an suv, so i know i need all the help i can get.  i really liked this thing.

Graco SnugRider Infant Car Seat Stroller Frame

it is so lightweight, folds up really easily, and the basket is huge!  but what sealed the deal for me was when my friend ran over hers with her car twice and it stills works beautifully.  so if this is what i want, then i will need a graco snugride carseat like this.

Graco SnugRide 32 Infant Car Seat
anybody out there have this and do you love it/hate it?  ive read some reviews and it seems the only real complaint is that the material doesn’t breathe well and can make the baby really hot…

we plan on using dr. brown bottles and similac formula but im lost on diapers.  are yall brand snobs or do you buy whats on sale?  ive heard of some babies being allergic to some, so we will deal with that if it happens.

and ive saved the best for last.  baby names.  i love names and their meanings.  we think we have two girl names to choose from but are really slim when it comes to boy names.  we have been looking through some geneology stuff and asking family members about old names.  we have a few to choose from (boy and girl) but would love to hear what yall think!  thanks for traveling this road with us and for your advice!

h

11 Comments

  1. Jessica said,

    July 22, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    you are so funny! i am all of tiny too, and i used an evenflo with travel system and after the first few months of infant tinyness it was such a chore! i have heard good things about that cute little one that you have a picture of and i definitely recommend something lightweight!

    i have heard that as far as diapers, you use pampers for girls and huggies for boys, but my honest advice is the huggies pure and natural diapers, they are the same price as regular huggies, have a biodegradable bag that you buy them in, and they got rid of Ethan’s diaper rash and were really good for his eczema.

    i used dr. brown bottles and they were fine…with that one bottom line is going to be what the baby prefers….and we used similac advance for ethan and it worked beautifully (much better than my completely inadequate breast milk!)

    i LOVE the name game so i think you should have several posts and polls about names….

    i’ll email you more as i think of them, but i like Jasper, Ezekiel (Zeke), Emmett, Emerson, etc…i could go on forever!! a book i found that i liked was a reverse name book (you look up names by meaning instead of meanings by names) i can’t remember the name of it but it was at B&N.

    you guys are going to be such wonderful parents!!! i’m so proud of you!

  2. Greg said,

    July 22, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Diapers: White Cloud (Wal-Mart brand) is good, Pampers may be the best but they think so too, and Huggies are terrible. White Cloud is all we have ever bought except if Pampers were on sale and cheaper.

    The boys were a little particular about the formula. We started with what was given to us and had to change brands for one of them. Dr. Brown bottles are great.

    I think a New Testament name would be perfect since adoption is such a great parallel for Gentile believers. How about Barnabas, Timothy, Paul, Steven, or (my personal favorite… ahem) Bartholomew. 🙂

    $.02

    How exciting!

  3. lwayswright said,

    July 22, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    I am an OLLLLLD mom…older then dirt. In fact I just had one graduate from college and one from highschool. But I can tell you this, I was not a brand snob when it came to diapers…although…some of the cheaper diapers just do not obsorb as much as the more expensive. But, I stuck with cheap! As for names, I just had a new great neice whose name is Clover Alia and i think it is apretty special name! My kids are Ashli danielle, Kassi Michele, and jacob David. But my favorite word of all time is Grace..I have it tattooed on my shoulder in fact. If I had it to do over again I would have named one of my girls Grace…called her Gracie….Grace is a beautiful and meaningful word!

  4. Allison said,

    July 22, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Hannah, I am so excited for you guys and that you have reached this part of your journey.

    My 11th month old, Connor still uses his Snugride. It was one of 2 carseats that snapped into the stroller that we have…it is big and heavy, but works well for us. Anyway, I like the carseat quite a bit. I agree that he got pretty hot when the weather was very warm, but I honestly think most seats have that problem. Connor is really outgrowing it now and we are just upgrading once we can turn the seat to forward-facing in a month. My future children will use the same one.

    Diapers…ah, diapers. We found that the Pampers Swaddlers worked best at the beginning. They are very soft and were great through size 2. Then, I found that once we started into the “cruisers” size, the elastic at top/back was not very good and he could explode (I know..lovely) out the back. My nephew has the same problem, but he has a reaction to all other “normal” diapers. I like the Huggies for the bigger sizes and actually just discovered that the Costco brand, Kirkland diapers are very similar to Huggies and I’ve been buying those.

    I breast-fed/pumped for as long as I could and then used up the Enfamil that I got for free and now I buy the Costco or Sam’s brand formula. All of the ingredients are exactly the same as Enfamil and Similac, but it is a fraction of the cost. I’m very fortunate that Connor does not have any digestive issues that allow us to save some $$!

    (sorry this is the longest comment ever)

    I also use Dr. Brown’s bottles. I really like them, but don’t like that there are a zillion parts to wash and if the bottle gets turned sideways, milk can freeflow out. Like I said, I still use them, but next time I might also try the Playtex Dropins. I’ve heard great things about those and there is far less cleanup involved.

    Good luck with the names. That is such a personal decision, I know you guys will come up with something just perfect! Again, congratulations on completing the process….and congratulations in advance for the beautiful baby that I know God has in store just for you guys.

    —allison (trotter) nealon

  5. Jill said,

    July 22, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Okay, first – we have a travel system that didn’t go at the yard sale – just saying. It’s greenish with some other colors and obviously, it works for girls, and it’s pretty gender neutral, so it could be for a boy too.
    Also, we have a matching pack n play and a fisher price swing. Girl, come shop at my garage!

    Also, we always used Pampers because they held all that mess breastmilk poop in. But I would have loved to use whatever was on sale!!

    Baby names? Well, you know how I feel about using Adeline! haha! And I guess that would go for Audrey as well. But I think I’m over it, now. I LOVE the names Clair, Lily, Analee, Faith and Grace
    Boy names? Samuel was our boy name that we’ll never get to use. And I loved Asher and Jacob.

  6. Alissa Carter Thomas said,

    July 24, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Hannah!
    It’s so good to hear that everything is moving ahead!
    Amber and I both have used Pampers Swaddlers
    and then Pampers Cruisers. Sunday Ads usually
    have coupons and we both have found that if
    you by them at somewhere like Sam’s club or
    Costco, you can get a bigger bang for your buck!
    We’ve used them on all four kids and loved them!
    So there’s my 2 cents!
    Love you, miss you and praying for you!
    Alissa

  7. Karen said,

    July 25, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I like the car seat and stroller! There is so much out there to choose from, it just depends on how much you want or have to spend!! 🙂

    I am unable to give advice at this point but I am sure we will be sharing stories very very soon on what works and what does not!!

    I started a blog. I’ll see how long I can keep it up!!

  8. Matt said,

    July 28, 2009 at 8:58 am

    For diapers, I know some of the ladies at our church wear depends. You should try those…..oh…you mean for the baby….can’t help you there.

    Names, however, I can help with! I’ve got a ton that Karen has refused so maybe you can use them. If it’s a boy please use bo or max! Those are my favorites. If it is a girl will you please name her Definiquionia (pronounce D-fee-neek-weee-on-ya). I will be forever hurt if you don’t use one of my names choices!

  9. ann said,

    August 2, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    great to hear that you guys are getting prepared!
    carseats….i had a safety 1st and it was really heavy. we also had a evenflo (for heath’s truck) and it was light, but they’ve had some recall issues. i really really liked my friend’s graco, it’ll be what we get for the next kiddo (God willing.) whatever you pick, test it out, in all manner of carrying it. and keep in mind that however heavy it is now, it will be getting incrementally heavier as the baby grows. i had great biceps when micah was in the carseat!
    we switched diapers a bit as micah grew. it really will depend on how your baby is shaped, as to which ones fit better. micah was a preemie, so we used the pampers preemies, then pampers swaddlers when he was little. they were the softest. they’re the best ones, and they know it. luvs, parents’s choice and white cloud all fit micah about the same. (which wasnt very good when he was little, but when he got around a year old, they fit fine.) huggies was a good second choice during the whole time.
    bottles. whichever ones your child will take! my friends bought every kind of premium bottle out there–the baby finally took the cheapo $1 walmart kind. micah did well with the playtex ones with the filtery thingy on the bottom. as for formula, if there’s no digestive issues, my pediatrician told me that there wasnt any difference between name-brand formula and store brand except the price and color (store brand tends to be more yellowish.) micah did well on the target brand-with-iron kind.
    as for names, well, heath and i always seem to agree on boys names, but few girls names! we have a thing for old testament minor prophets (micah, malachi, jonah, etc.) we tend to try to give our kids a “rock star” name and an “accountant” name. that way, for example, if micah doesnt want to go by micah, he can always have jon. but thats just us 🙂
    cant wait to see who God gives you guys!

  10. Karen said,

    August 17, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    I can’t believe you guys are finally done…hooray! Now the fun part waiting, on the LORD!!:):)

    Wish I would have had that stoller, but we’ve already had that talk. And I love my Chicco carseat for infant stage…used it for both kiddos. Once turned around to the front, they both got Britax and I must say that I love me some Britax, but they are a little pricey, although you can get some great deals. As for the breathability…though I love my Chicco, I don’t feel like it breathes the best either. The fabric on my Britax is a whole other story…LOVE IT!

    As for diapers, I experimented with so many. Emily could not wear Huggies, she leaked out like crazy. Timothy couldn’t wear Pampers b/c he leaked in those. Both my babies were teensy tiny in the beginning (TK was 4lbs 11oz when we came home) so that made it hard at first b/c we had to do Preemie diapers but after the first few months, we went the cheaper route with both. As soon as they could both wear Target brand (around 3 months), we went that route. They were the one diaper that they could both wear and now the T brand is so cute…blue and green polka dots!! The big box is under 14 bucks compared to Pampers 20 or over and Huggies around 19 usually…can you tell I have compared. I feel like the diaper lady extraordinaire.:) I have had terrible experiences with Luvs, plus they don’t have stretchy tabs. Girl, I could write you a book on my diaper comparisons…we may need to revisit this convo in person:) hehe!

    Names??? I’m not touching that one…I will pray that you and Clay can agree with ease and that you will feel lead to select the perfect name for your little one…you’ll know when it’s right, even if it takes a while;)

  11. Sarah said,

    August 19, 2009 at 5:04 am

    Hey Hannah!

    I’m so happy for you guys, first of all! Can’t wait to meet a little one sometime soon!

    I have a Graco travel system that I got at Target, and I love it! I don’t use the base in my car because it’s tiny (a Jetta). It works out great and is easier for me to get in and out. My stroller is light enough for me, and I’m pretty wimpy. : )

    I thought I was gonna use Dr. Brown’s bottles, too, because I heard how wonderful they were. Well, maybe they’re great for some folks, but not for Tucker. To me, it seemed like there were a million parts to wash, and made Tucker gassy and he spit up more with them. I do the Playtex (I think) drop-ins, and they’re so quick and easy, and did better for Tucker. I think you’ll find that you use whatever works for your baby, and hopefully, you’ll find what that is quickly!

    For diapers, we’re a Huggies family! I’ve tried them all, and for us, the cheap ones leak and to me, that’s not worth the money. Pampers feel good, but Tucker usually leaked through at night. Huggies are about the same price as Pampers, but I can get coupons for them pretty frequently.

    Good luck, and I’m always here if you have any questions! Love you guys!


Leave a Reply

